July 16, 2015

UPDATE on tax relief for Texas federal disaster areas—list of counties expanded significantly

Breaking news—on June 3, we advised our clients that taxpayers in three Texas counties designated as federal disaster areas qualify for tax filing and payment extensions.   The list of counties has been expanded significantly.

The following are federal disaster areas qualifying for individual assistance on account of severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that took place beginning on May 4, 2015: Angelina, Bastrop, Blanco, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Cherokee, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Erath, Fort Bend, Fannin, Fayette, Frio, Gaines, Grayson, Guadalupe, Harris, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Jim Wells, Johnson, Liberty, Milam, Montague, Montgomery, Navarro, Nueces, Rusk, Smith, Travis, Trinity, Van Zandt, Walker, Wichita, Williamson, and Wise counties.

See our original post here

For assistance or questions, feel free to give us a call.


–        The Maddox Thomson & Associates team

Maddox, Thomson & Associates

Maddox, Thomson & Associates

MTA is a full service, privately held CPA firm established in 1985 in Houston, Texas. Built on a reputation for client service, the firm delivers tax-compliant solutions through its financial planning, tax preparation and consulting services.

With more than 30 years of experience, our team of seasoned professionals will help you define personal and professional financial goals and establish strategies to maximize achievement.